Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Still Life

A quiet Sunday afternoon looking out at the rain coming down in stair-rods and wondering what to do for today's blipfoto that wouldn't involve getting my camera wet.  Scanning the room, my eyes alighted on a painting that hangs on the lounge wall at Mum's.  It's a still life study painted in oils by my late Auntie Chris (included here as an extra photo), and I thought I'd try and recreate it.  I substituted a Split (mini) bottle of Heidsieck & Co Dry Monopole champagne for the wine bottle.  It was part of a dinner we were served during a Dan Air flight in the late 60's/early 70's on a Comet 4 aeroplane.  As I was only nine or ten years old, Mum and Dad kept hold of it for when I had grown up.  True to the romantic ideals of all little girls, I decided I was going to drink a toast with it on my wedding day.  Four decades later it remains unopened, and is now very probably undrinkable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.