Peahen

By Peahen

Sunday strangeness

Small girl woke me at 7-30am, relieving me from a nightmare in which I was doing an exam to apply for an OU music course, with broken headphones, a sheaf of irrelevant papers and a hideous smell of decay from somewhere in the library where I was sitting the exam. As I put the kettle on I comforted myself with the thought that my learning was happily settled with the OCA and my photography course. Later in the day I checked my OCA email account and learned that my current plan of not making the degree/no degree decision until later in my foundation course might not be the best one. In a nutshell, all degree modules are having their prices substantially increased from September 1st this year. Existing degree students are protected from this increase to a large extent, but I've had to ask if Foundation students count as existing degree students. Otherwise, if I want to do a degree at close to the current prices I'll need to register (and start paying) by the end of July, when I'll still be less than half-way through my current Foundation course. Honestly, I'm not sure that I'm ready to make that decision yet. An OCA degree is substantially less expensive than a bricks and mortar one but the amount of money involved still equates to a substantial amount of kit, and if I understand the course structure correctly I'd be looking at least at an extra £200 per year in fees. Fingers crossed that Foundation students are also protected from the new degree prices. The silver lining I suppose is that the Foundation prices are protected so I don't have to pay any more for the course that I'm currently on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.