Nine Maidens

Normally on a Sunday morning I just get a little walk, or a 10 min play in the field, so that I can have a wee & a poo because our ‘big long walk Sundays’ are usually 6+ miles.

This morning Ann said, ‘Molly the weather forecast is rubbish until this afternoon so we’ll do a normal length walk this morning and then at midday our friend Angela is coming over and we’re going to do a big, long, walk to Nine Maidens this afternoon.’

Nine Maidens is a stone circle in the middle of the moors (except there's 11 stones??). Click on this link to read all the blurb if you're interested. 

Anyway I walked almost 3 miles on my morning walk (that’s not normal – we’re usually only out for 30-40mins in the morning) because Ann’s doing the ‘Fitbit weekend warrior challenge’.  Ie she has a Fitbit pedometer attached to her bra at all times and the aim of the challenge is to see who can walk the most steps in 48 hours.  Last weekend she came 2nd so she’s determined to win this weekend.  Nothing like a good old bit of healthy competition.

On our ‘big, long Sunday afternoon walk’, we walked more than 9 miles.  No wonder I’m a tired little collie now.

Fortunately when we got home the humans said they were going out for dinner.  So I got to eat my dinner in peace and then have snooze time. 

I think sometimes Ann forgets how old I am.  Having said that........................  It was like collie heaven up at ‘Nine Maidens’.  There were so many bunnies for me to chase that eventually I got put back on my lead because I was ignoring Ann when she was calling me.  Ann doesn’t mind me chasing bunnies because she knows I’ll never catch one..................... But she does mind if I don’t come back the minute I’m called??!!

And guess what?.................................  Ann has now clocked up 48,466 steps which means that she’s in the lead by more than 16,000 steps for the ‘Fitbit Weekend Warrior Challenge’.  It’s almost 10pm.  The challenge ends at midnight.  Surely no one is going to be able to overtake her now???

........................We are the champions. Yay!!!

PS – We’ll report back tomorrow if we really are the champions.  Off to bed now.  Toodles. xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.