Hyperionides

By HaxSyn

A New Reek

Even flowers use social media these days! I'd been follow Titan Arum at the botanical gardens for the past week and on Friday it finally started blooming. The "Amorphophallus titanum" has been growing at The Botanical Gardens for about 12 years and this year flowered, late Friday I saw on Twitter that had started blooming, as the flower only lasts for a day or so I was up early and at the gardens just after 9am (they opened the gardens earlier and closed later to let people see it). It was fairly quiet when I got there so I didn't have to wait long, I heard later the wait was over an hour! I spent a little time exploring the rest of glass houses. I made a short stop via the duck pond where there were some baby Moor Hens. It was Armed Forces Day and I made it to the Royal Mile in time for the parade and then spent some time at the Grassmarket where there a number of displays from different armed forces. 

After the Grassmarket I ended up at the Union Canal where the annual Union Canal festival was in full flow including the raft race which was quite amusing (the homemade rafts all looked rather dodgy).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.