and through the wire...

By hesscat

No Flies On Me

Our extension was finished almost 10 years ago and after the 1st summer of having patio doors we decided to get fly screens. The ones I made for the windows were fine but I got stuck almost half way in when making the ones for these doors - "features" of the build meant dimensions were not quite as planned. I thought I'd came up with a solution but I didn't want to commit to it working for some reason...

So 9 and a half weeks years later I thought, what the... and decided to continue and spent the last week on them. I am actually surprised how well they turned out given the history, flies will struggle to make it in this way!

Of course, as Tom is showing, he and Molly will have to get used to not getting in this way! My previous fly screen door for our original patio door did feature a cat flap, I was rather proud of my own design back then.

The only downside is... and some might see this as an upside... Fly Destruction Derby is less likely to happen in this kitchen. Despite the occasional day when there might have been 50 flies in the house, it was great fun swatting them and a real challenge for say 30 minutes (coz I had nothing else to do like finish these doors)! So maybe... if I am feeling lucky... punk... I might just leave one of these doors open an inch...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.