Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Bird Bath

Crooked, you say?  Ha!  It's a flipping Cardinal in my backyard while I was sitting on my patio!  Do you think I expected, or even ever dreamed possible, a cardinal would come within eye shot of me? I hadn't even seen a cardinal since Easter Sunday and that was through the window.

I had my tripod set up with its legs stuck through and jammed tightly among the legs of two patio chairs.  I was nestled in my "bird blind," with a chair to my right which blocked the tripod.  The camera was set at a height just above that chair, fixed upon one of the hummingbird feeders.

Then the cardinal appeared at the red dish.  It was the only one of the four water/feed sites in my yard the camera could not see from where it was set.  I scrambled.  First, I tried to unscrew the bolt to raise the height of the tripod so that I could swing it around.  It worked, but I couldn't get my body twisted enough to look through the viewfinder.

So I quickly made sure everything was tight then I picked the whole damn thing up, stood and pulled the camera in front of my face.  I pointed it at the frolicking fellow and got off a couple of snapshots. I wasn't going to miss this freaking bird! 

So what you see is exactly what came out of my camera.  A no fuss, no muss photograph...although by gaining two strained quadriceps, some might not qualify it as such.  I, however, call them worth the weird blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.