Twice as nice!

OMG! What an amazing day!!!
Arran and I went over into Hampshire to Noar Hill, a well known orchid site in the South downs. We went last year, about this time but because the season was a week or two earlier last year some of the orchids were going over. This year we hit it spot on! what an amazing place! There were literally orchids everywhere as far as the eye could see.... Pyramidals, Common spotted, and Chalk fragrant were really abundant, but there were still some Common twayblades, a large colony of Musk orchids (The small yellow orchid in my extras), a small colony of Frog orchids (also in my extras) and a single Fly orchid!
As you can imagine I was torn over which shot to blip, but in the end decided on the shot of a Common spotted orchid with a perching Marbled white butterfly. I saw lots of Marbled whites, and lots of Common spotted orchids but only one of them together!
My final extra shots are of another beautiful Broomrape (possibly bedstraw) and a general shot of one of the paths to try to give you some idea of how utterly amazing it actually was!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.