Melbourne Sky

Leftfield - Little Fish

Today was spent going to some old haunts and slowly re-adjusting to the Melbourne cultural climate. It's weird seeing so many people around areas that have morphed into some bizarre urban creature. Reverse culture shock for sure. Seeing price tags and sale signs creating a new rhythm of strategic spending or consumption.

I was happy to see the hi-fi stores still selling the same sets of things and was taken in by the whole Console gaming thing again and considered getting a PS4 even though it's not even worth the time anymore. It just looks so cool. Nonetheless, I bought Leftfield's new album which I'm in adoration with (as with all of Leftfield's work) and watched a bunch of movies to release the tension of having moved apartments, saying goodbye to students and travelling all weekend.

I finally saw John Wick also which was crazy. There's clearly a "premium" action film market that has upgraded acting and emotionally taught action like say, The Equalizer, 2 Guns, Run All Night, etc. They're certainly not as fun or stupid as they used to be back in the 80's/90's.

Also, even though I've temporarily left Japan I've got a list of Japanese films to watch that I can't see in Japan due to the lack of English subtitles. Finally saw Takeshi Miike's 13 Assassin's and that was crazy. I've got Gantz 1 & 2 on the back burner as well as Ruroni Kenshin 1,2&3. Good times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.