Wood vetch

I spent a chunk of today reconnecting with the nature reserve after two weeks in exciting areas of Armenia. I was afraid the reserve would seem very tame after all the amazing biodiversity of that country, but halfway through a gentle walk around today, the place seduced me, just as it did 35 years ago, at almost the same time of year. It wasn't just the wonderful seclusion, all the orchids and butterflies like Dark Green Fritillary (my first for the year in the UK) zipping around the meadows; it was seeing all the familiar little 'secret' places and observing the results of our (the Wildlife Trust) management over the years. This beautiful plant of scrub and dappled woodland, Wood Vetch, was only found in two clumps when I first got involved...and it was the only site for it in Buckinghamshire. Today, I was able to see it flowering profusely in at least eight different places. The extra photo is of Greater Butterfly Orchid, still flowering exuberantly, as though I'd never been away - a recent count in the main area for it at the reserve showed there have been over 1500 flowering spikes this year! It's not so bad to be back.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.