Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Line. End of the...

This poor Dragonfly - I believe it's a female Common Whitetail - came to a sad end, probably because of smacking into someone's windshield/windscreen. I found her on our walk this morning and put her on the top of a fence post for a post mortem shot. She has reached the end of the line. And thus, is *perfect* for today's MonoMonday Challenge: Line. HA! Silver lining... although I suppose she wouldn't appreciate it as such.

Meanwhile, the extra shot is a prime example of seeing/not seeing. The farm pond that we pass on our walk is a good distance from the road, and I always look down at it across the hay field, to see if there's a duck or a heron or... something. This morning I was delighted to see a Belted Kingfisher! So I snapped a bunch of photos, none of which are really any good - as the distance is just too great to do anything but document its presence, but you will no doubt appreciate my amusement when the first shot I looked at revealed that on the same dead tree - a short distance away - there was also perched a Green Heron! Of which I had been completely unaware. Bonus!  ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.