Just trying to survive

By NovaLovesFrogs

My Good Friend Nova

Sorry for not blipping over the weekend. It was boring as Hell and Nova and I spent it in bed and using a fan to blow the cold air from the window AC unit on us.

The fire ant invasion is in full force. I'm tempted to get some Praying Mantis eggs to hatch and set loose in the house. B is worried about setting geckos loose in the house because he doesn't want the ants to kill them, even though the geckos completely rid the house of last year's infestation. (In his defense, though, the fire ants are much bigger than previous infestations.)

Been too sick to do much about fighting the ants. It wasn't too bad at first, because for some reason they weren't stinging me. But now they're slowly starting to attack me in bed and sting me. It probably won't be long until I'm back to being stung hundreds of times a day. I truly hate fire ants.

Anyways, today isn't much better than the weekend was. It's hot and pretty miserable.

We're making plans to go back to Kansas City in August for a visit. Only my dad (technically not my actual father) knows we're planning on heading up there. Gonna try to surprise my gran for her birthday.

So here's today's blip. Nova hanging out on my leg while soaking up some cool air. Even though it's hot, he still needs physical affection, and can often be found on my leg like this, or lying on my stomach.

Despite his massive size and great strength, Nova is a beautiful, loving, gentle giant. Sometimes he gets too excited and his full strength comes out, but except for those times and the times he feels he needs to protect us ("us" being whoever he considers his family, humans and animals alike) he is the gentlest, sweetest giant.

Hope you all are doing well. Take care. Love you all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.