Mid-winter surprise!

Flowering during the bleakest months are the tiny waxy flowers of wintersweet. The light yellow flowers, with maroon coloured inner petals, have a strong, sweet fragrance which drifts through the air as I collect my mail from the letterbox. Its petals are slightly translucence and glow under the winter sun. Wintersweet originates from China and is distantly related to the magnolia family.

A slight frost this morning with a calm cold day following, plenty of sun but not good drying weather, my washing is now inside hanging on the clothes horse.

I've been slowly editing some photos from Saturday's trip to the snow, I'll put some on flickr and let you know when the album is ready.

Thank you for all the lovely words, stars and fav's for yesterday's mono Monday shot. Today's shot is for Tiny Tuesday kindly hosted by Walking Wombat.

Happy Tuesday everyone :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.