Holy Monday - St Andreas, Attenhausen

To be seen quite clearly the village church which dates back to late 15thC. with various renovations in 18th and 19thC. It's the only church in our 700 odd inhabitant village but we at least have three more chapels, needless to say, all are Roman Catholic.

Early morning start as I needed to do a doctor's rounds. First stop, my ex GP (who was the main star of the documentary I linked yesterday). He sold the practice at the end of last year but helps out still and he and his wife still play important roles in the parish, mainly connected with the Generation House designed to bring the very old and very young together. His latest project is with trying to get new housing built for care for the elderly - important as the rural family networks break down in our modern world. Then on to my GP since December in Erkheim, a father & daughter team who have now taken on a new female doctor as the father just like my old GP is starting to enjoy retirement.

Both visits were purely administrative as I needed to let them swipe my health insurance card for the quarter which ends this week. Due to a mistake made by the chemist, my old GP had issued a prescription this quarter and I think it was subsequently destroyed but I'll let the health insurance people sort that out. In fact, I haven't visited a GP at all this year, simply having had a referral and a prescription.

Did the dog walk, visited the agricultural merchants and being angry they hadn't restocked the shelves with something I need, I drove home forgetting my plan to Blip the Erkheim catholic church (Bliped the protestant one a few months ago)

So evening came and no Blip. Took the camera on the evening walk (8:30 pm) and spotted this opportunity. Some of the herd of Limousin cattle got in the way. An organic herd of what is called here "Mother Cow" herd, the mums not being milked, the milk is solely for the calves which stay with them (none in this photo but here one from 2013)

I had planned here to do a bit on cattle horns and the ever-increasing movement to stop horn removal/ burning. Cattle belong to the family of Bovidae, cloven-hoofed, horn carrying rumnants. Another link to a TV documentary this month on the subject. Includes a scene where a 50+ year old "converted" local farmer nearly cries when recounting the times he used to dehorn his girls. However, the pros and cons of this will have to wait for another Blip. I would quickly add the back of an animal right at the front of the Blip is the bull - he is luckily hornless!

So got my Blip duty done and by the time the dogs had had a cool off swim and we got home, Angie had arrived from her Monday fitness workout and had even cooked me a meal! Not a bad end to the day and please note I didn't even use the expression "Holy Cow" once..

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.