atoll

By atoll

He's not Dead He's Resting

Can't believe it. Here am I starved of outdoor blippping of late due to rain and being stuck at a computer most of the week - and then when the sun does finally comes out, and I decide to go and blip the Flights of Fancy visual art installations at the Tatton Biennial, I run into a huge Parrot being transported in the passenger seat of a bright red and mint-condition open top Austin-Healy 3000 sports car.

Oddly, Tabley road is turning into a Blip Golden Mile or Bermuda Triangle because that is where I also came across my three umbrella ladies Waiting for the Ghost Train and my horse-drawn Romany Caravan of Love.

Just left the door when the car went past and turned right opposite our house. I decided to give chase in our car as I had missed the blipping chance (normal occurance). Lucky for me it was pulled up just down the road, and the driver was out and asking directions. I grabbed my chance and parked up.

Mrs B was horrified, but not as much as when I pulled up on the same road side last year to a badly injured Pheasant with broken wing and dispatched it quickly for the pot (I made what I thought was a very well-received Road Kill Paella, but don't think that will make the Great British Menu somehow). Anyway, it seems the driver (Martin) was trying to find directions to the Game & Country Fair at Tabley House and the Ruby Macaw (Pat) was accompanying him.

"Is it a girl or boy" I asked Martin as he let it out of the cage. "I don't know, thats why I call it Pat" he replied. Have added a few more shots to the Blipfolio .

Anyway, me and MrsB did go to the Tatton Biennial and I took loads of great shots. In particular the artwork called Pont de Singe by Olivier Grossetête was spectacular in the sunshine against the backdrop of the Japanese Garden.

Another, called Empty Nest by Hillary Jack was less succesful I thought. Based on a giant and literal crows nest, its theme was linked both to the death of Tatton Park's Lord Egerton and the superstition that an estates crows flee when the head of a household dies heirless.

I will not be intending to die heirless, though it will certainly be airless and hairless in my case.

Postscript: Further to yesterday's Blip Critter vs Skiddum about Hugo and Automata, Mr John very kindly supplied me some further information and this led to my discoverey of the wonderful Tim Hunkin and his mad but brilliant London Zoo Aviary Clock. Click on his link to see a Youtube video. The artistic concept was linked to his idea of Travelling Menageries, and so this seemed a lovely cross reference to Pat and Martin here.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.