Critter vs Skidum

Watched the wonderful Martin Scorsese film Hugo last night care of Lovefilm. Couldn't quite come to terms with the very English accents for a film set in Paris, but the story, cinematography and feel were amazing. Had been commenting about it to my new sub Richardh regading his interesting Magic Lantern blip.

Particularly loved all the clockwork and the beautiful automaton in the film and this idea drew me today to my own tiny collection of wind-up designs by Chico Bicalho for Kikkerland .

Been working all day today and missed the outdoors, so here for my childish amusement before Holland vs Denmark is Critter vs Skidum in their own little dance-off. Off-centre sorry as Critter was skittering around all over the place and Skiddum doing a Whirling Dervish.

Kind of related to this, I have an ambition to commission Theo Jansen to install some of his crazy wind-powered Strandbeests on a beach somewhere in UK (ideally NW) one day. Please check out the videos off his link. Mad as a hatter, but I love his work to bits.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.