WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Serving for the match

Sorry. Tennis came irresistibly to mind, probably because of the Djokovic-Nadal match. This is the tomb of poet Henry Bataille (1872-1922) in Moux, and I think that might be his heart he's holding. The statue, "one of the greatest works of French genius", was his choice of decoration: "On my tomb, I want that old statue of an erect skeleton, torso exposed, dripping with live flesh, which has not yet given everything up to vermin. ... I would like to lie before the threshold, outside the house and alone, as if I were the guard-dog observing the stars, questioning the night and the dew."

From here we drove up Alaric looking for a picnic spot. The one we found wasn't great, but we saw loads of beautiful flowers competing for insects' attention in shades of yellow, blue, magenta and white. But I decided this photo made for a more compelling blip!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.