Sunny Day at Prince Gallitzin

It's been quite a rainy June, and the Junes have been that way for the past several summers. Early summer almost feels like a rain forest here, with everything wet and green. We had heavy rain over the weekend, but sunshine was predicted for Monday.

It seemed somehow wrong to be talking about having any fun at all, with my sister in the hospital. But we had  just visited on Friday. And my husband and I discussed the fact that Monday just might be the only clear day for much of the rest of the week. So in the end, I took a vacation day from work, and we went swimming at Prince Gallitzin State Park.

I've only posted a few photos of Prince Gallitzin over the years I've been on blip. While Prince Gallitzin was the site of my husband's and my second date (and on a quiet corner of the lake, in a canoe, we shared our first kiss 29 years ago this August), we just don't get there that often these days.

The ground was soggy with moisture. There were mud puddles everywhere. A few boats cruised along on the lake. The swimming area might have had a dozen people; no more. A hummingbird sipped on milkweed along the shore, and it zipped away across the lake like a speeding rocket upon our approach.

The water was a bit choppy, with waves that kept breaking against the side of my head. The long swim left my shoulders exhausted, but it was a good workout. We had an enjoyable swim, changed clothes, took a little hike, sat in our chairs and read our books in the sun, and then headed home.

Our drive back home was accompanied by increasing clouds that were moving in from the west. Within an hour or so after we arrived home, it began to rain again. I calculated that we had about 8 hours of sunshine. And I was outside for every single one of them! Hooray!

The song to accompany this image is by the Boss. (I find I'm listening to him more than usual lately. It's part of how I cope.) The story of the song is the singer's heartfelt wish to return to a happier, simpler time. The tune is Bruce Springsteen's Waitin' on a Sunny Day, from the 9/11-themed album, The Rising. I'm including two versions, one an upbeat, rocking version with the gang, and the other a solo acoustic number.  Well, I'm waitin', waitin' on a sunny day . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.