Grandma

Late last night I found out that my Grandma Margaret had sadly passed away peacefully in her sleep.

She really was one of a kind and will be very sadly missed. She was always a very adventurous and positive person with a razor sharp wit ready at any moment. She lived an amazing life making the most of every one of her 93 years.

I'm sure all my family have their own favourite stories of times with her. One of mine was a conversation Jen and I had with her last year about what my Dad and uncle were like growing up. At the end of the conversation she just said 'Yes, I think I did a good job with those boys, I'm very proud of them. They've both done ever so well... Don't tell them that though, it will only go to their heads!' with that cheeky smile and laugh I knew so well. Well, I think they already knew she was proud of them, we all knew how proud she was of all of her family, she liked to show us off!

She will be missed but her legacy will always been with us.

(Just a note on the picture. This painting has been proudly hung wherever she has lived ever since I have known her. I have no idea who the women is (there's probably another story there). It was brought back by her when she left Malaysia. It always signifies to me that we are at Grandma's whether that was her apartment or the rooms she stayed in at the retirement home that cared for her so well these last few years)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.