My alternative diary

By chrisphoto

It’s a sad day

In 2001 when my Dad died in 2001, my brother and I inherited (along with other things) his small portfolio of what he called his “penny shares”. Amongst those shares were some for Thorntons who have over the years done alright but more recently seemed to lose their way in the recession and their share price lost quite a bit of value.
Since coming away, Ferrero (parent company of Ferrero Rocher) have made a takeover bid for the Thorntons. Today I read the relevant documents and then had to decide whether to accept the offer. I have  accepted with great sadness as it feels like loosing a bit of my Dad. However, we need to have some work done on the motorhome and the proceeds of the sale will pay for that work - so, thanks Dad.
Today was also a challenge. We came to France for sun and did we get it mid 30C most of the day. We decided to go to the coast (Ile de Noirmoutier) as it “would be cooler and be a breeze” - wrong. Still there would be lots of photo opportunities; and there were. Before starting checked all the usual settings and adjusted as necessary BUT forgot about !SO as I never alter that (but did last night) so I’ve been shooting at ISO 1000 all day as I was shooting birds at dusk last night. Todays images will wait until I get home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.