Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Miniature Red Rose

Today, as a change from birds and animals I am back to blipping my usual flowers. This is a miniature red rose, the bush was 'lost' in the wild area until I cleared it last week; it has in excess of a hundred buds on it and only a few have opened so far.

As many of you know, during my spare time, I am researching various family trees. For many months now I have been convinced that an Olympian Rower who won a gold medal in the 1908 Olympic Games in London was related to my grandchildren on my son-in-laws side; but I could not find the evidence.

Yesterday, after many hours, weeks and months of note taking and researching, I found the link, back on the 1841 census where I found his Grandmother was married to one of the ancestors in my grandchildren's tree. Once I had found it, it was so obvious, as to be ridiculous, but the pieces had not fallen into place before. The Olympian was Harry Blackstaffe whose real name was Henry Thomas Blackstaffe, he raced in the Single Sculls and this was his last race; by this time he was forty years old. Today I have been filling all kinds of other information onto the tree, which did not fit until now.

I am now off to cook dinner and then I shall watch the Formula One from Montreal on a German television channel. The BBC do not have coverage this week and we do not have Sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.