Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Light and shadow

Drove back from Lancaster this morning. It was warm and sunny in Lancashire and Cumbria but got cloudier the further north I drove. So I had the rare pleasure of sunshine as I crossed northwards over Shap but steady rain through the Southern Uplands. Thankfully the rain was relatively short-lived, but the weather north of the border didn't make the heights of our near neighbours in the south. It had been a good weekend celebrating my cousin's birthday and catching up with all their news.

I had a meeting in the church in the evening - one of those where the agenda was on matters practical rather than spiritual - but the shadow of recent events in Tunisia loomed large over the proceedings.

Two members of one of our sister churches in Cumbernauld had been killed in the attack and the whole community is, understandably, in a state of shock and mourning. That they were due to attend a Garden Party hosted by HM The Queen at the Palace of Holyrood House on their return just added to the sense of loss and bewilderment. One cannot imagine how their families and the members of their own church are coping.

As it happened, our meeting finished relatively early, allowing me to go out into the kirkyard and take a few more shots of our church to add to my collection. I settled for this black & white image for my daily blip. Sums up how many of us are feeling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.