Metamorphosis

I watched in fascination yesterday as a Monarch Butterfly caterpillar attached itself by a silken thread to the underside of a leaf. It then began to twist and turn until finally it rested and I took a photo of it at that stage. Check the 'extra photo' to see it right at the beginning of the process of it's Metamorphosis. Today's photo shows the fully formed Chrysalis. I will try to document it's changing into a Beautiful Monarch Butterfly over the next several days. Understanding that the natural world is fraught with danger I will attempt to refrain from naming it! Hahaha...no, I don't really name wild creatures...tempted as I might be to do so!
This is a fascinating visual explanation of the parts of a Monarch Chrysalis...Parts is Parts

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.