Loire

We reached Roskoff this morning in thick fog and drove out of the port and on our way into some rain which gradually got heavier. Yes. we had thought it would be a heavy day in a heatwave. Well, yes, the rain soon stopped, the sun came out and it was H O T ! It wasn't a bad drive but you never get that much sleep on the ferry so I was glad to get off the autoroute and into the Loire Valley proper.

So here we are with one of the most beautiful chateaux in the world almost next door to where we're staying and what do I give you? A broken down shed in a cornfield. 

It was actually the first thing I saw when we got off the autoroute and there was a place to pull off right there. That was an invitation I couldn't refuse. You'll probably get a chateau tomorrow but for now here's a stone borie, or some such thing.

Supper calls and I don't want to keep it waiting! 

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.