The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Transfer to KL

I got up early (for me) and cycled to the famous Transfer Road roti canai stall. I'd tried to go a few times but it's only open in the mornings for breakfast. I went after the peak time (it's very popular with locals) and had two different types. I can't say it was the absolute best roti canai I've had but it was definitely deserving of the reputation. Then I cycled to the cendol stall that I discovered yesterday and it's still fantastic. During both visits the man didn't say a single word to me but simply nodded when I ordered and again when I thanked him afterwards.

Even before noon it was too hot to be cycling on an old bike with no gears, so by the time I got back, I was sweating like I'd run a marathon. I checked out of my hostel, said goodbye to the lovely owners and got a taxi to the airport with plenty of time to spare. The airport was very quiet and there was no-one before me at security. I put both of my bags on the conveyor belt to be checked and walked through the metal detector. Then I noticed that the one and only member of staff who was meant to be watching the screens for the x-ray machine was fast asleep! My bags could have had anything in them. 

Once on the plane, the captain stood at the front and addressed all the passengers. He told us that Kuala Lumpur airport was temporarily closed due to a heavy storm and we were grounded until it cleared. He prepared us for the worst and openly said that lots of other flights were having to land in Penang instead of KL so there would probably be a long queue even when the airport reopens. The way he was talking, I assumed we would be delayed many hours. Luckily the storm cleared up quickly and we were only an hour behind schedule.

Before leaving KL over a week ago, I'd booked back in to the same hostel for when I returned. I got the train straight there and had a little lie down. I got a message out of the blue from a Couchsurfing member asking if I'd like to meet up so we went for dinner. She's an artist from Iran and was very interesting! I got back around midnight and was definitely ready for bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.