The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Ramadan Bazaar

I had a relaxing day in KL and then at about 5.30pm I got the train to Kampung Baru for the large Ramadan bazaar. Unlike most food markets, the Ramadan bazaars are for take-away meals to eat at home. The fasting ends at sun-down (around 7.20pm) so between 5pm and 7pm the market is full of very hungry people getting their feast to break the fast. It's bad form to eat at the market in front of all those starving Muslims, so I took my haul back to my hostel. I'd bought too much so only managed half of it but I had popiah, murtabek, roti tempayan (like a thick roti canai - being fried in the photo) and roti goreng (a soft bread roll filled with spicy beef and a thin crispy layer on the outside). I wish I could go to markets like that every day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.