FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Balmy Day

It was so humid today it seemed the South East of England was melting in the heat. The start and end of the day had that lovely Mediterranean feel with a dry heat and gentle breeze. The rest of the day was a different story however.

As I waited for my connecting train at Tonbridge train station I noticed commuters stood like zombies on the platform not quite knowing where to get. Many of the city workers were inappropriately dressed for the weather with suits, ties and smart shoes.

The most relaxed of the travellers were the Kent office workers like me wearing casual cottons and linens. The trains were fully air conditioned today so it was blissfully cool commuting to and from the office.

A balmy day in the office where my colleagues and I struggled with the heat willing our overheated brains to carry on regardless. Iced frappuccinos mid-afternoon cooled the fried brain cells slightly but by 530 we admitted defeat and packed up for the day.

I spent most of the evening relaxing in my friend's hot tub allowing the bubbles to massage my aching shoulders and sore feet from the past few days of activity. It was pure bliss.

A gentle stroll at 1030pm felt like we were in the Mediterranean rather than England. A rare experience in this country.

It's now almost 1am and I'm sat writing my blip outside in the garden. It's too humid to sleep and the air is cool and still. I'm making the most of it before cooler weather and rain arrives as it always does!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.