Bloom wherever you are planted.

Dear Diary,

I spent a lovely evening with Susie and Mary on Black Cat Island on Lake Winnipesaukee, New Hampshire.  The lake's name is an Indian one meaning "Smile of the Great Spirit".  It always makes me smile when I'm here, even for a short overnight stay.

I went out this morning to find something to photograph and this ancient boulder by the house caught my eye.  It is covered with moss and pine  needles but lovely ferns have also found a home on its back.  After yesterdays post about "where seeds land herbs grow" it seemed most appropriate.

Over the years I've watched the ferns grow and spread in their tenuous foothold on the rock.  They've learned to thrive despite the miniscule amount of soil they have.  It made me think of the old adage to "bloom wherever you are planted."  Sometimes we can't control the circumstances of our life but we can make the most of the gifts we are given.  That reminds me of a quote by the prominent French journalist and author Alphonse Karr:

“Some people are always finding fault with Nature for putting thorns on roses; I always thank her for having put roses on thorns.”

A good thought for the day....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.