don376

By don376

The mysterious incident of the wallet!

Driving home last night around 7.30pm I noticed an object in the middle of the road, right on the white line, and I thought "there's someone's wallet" and it was.  Risking life and limb (cars were of course coming from both directions and miraculously none of them drove on the centre line or me) I retrieved the wallet and started my investigations!  I was hoping to find some contact details and then be able to get in touch with the person who had lost it.  Apart from a few coins there was no paper money in the wallet.  A collection of credit/debit cards and a driving licence which showed a good looking young man of 21 years old and his name & an address in Bury (which is quite a distance away from Altrincham).  So I decided to take it to our nearest police station which was closed!  Unless it's a 999 emergency (what do you dial in other countries?) then you have to leave an answer-phone message - I ask you!  But a very nice lady called me today and I went round to hand it in. An equally nice policeman handled the situation extremely quickly and professionally and explained that although he was technically retired he had come back to work to beat the boredom of being at home!  Anyway Sherlock Holmes fans we have the following theories:-
1. He was crossing the road from the nearby pub and dropped his wallet out of his back pocket - favourite place for young men.
2. His wallet had been stolen and driving away the thieves took whatever paper money there was in it and then threw the rest out of the window
3. He was getting into a taxi and he dropped it in the middle of the road

Who knows?  What do you think?  If I ever do find out (the police have my contact details) I will share it with my blip friends!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.