Farewell

The Great Crested Grebes had already left when I arrived at the nest today, abandoning their fourth egg. I had thought they wouldn't be around for very much longer but I had not expected them to leave this soon. I don't know why they left their last egg behind. I can only hope that it won't hatch anymore now and that they did so because it was either infertile, or that the chick inside it wasn't alive anymore.

I hoped I'd be able to see them one more time before they would leave the area entirely and cycled alongside the water to see if I could spot them. They had covered quite a bit of distance already when I eventually did catch up with the family.

This is not my best photo of the day but I chose it because the 3 babies are visible in it and I may not see them again after today.

It was still very warm today, but not as hot as it had been yesterday. This was probably because the sun stayed hidden behind the clouds for a large part of the day. We even had some rain at some stage. When it started, I hope it would bring the temperature down a bit but unfortunately the rain did not even last a whole minute.

Thank you so much for the kind comments, stars and hearts on yesterday's dragonfly blip. They are all very much appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.