Jewel Orchid

Haemaria discolor dawsoniana.  A close-up of the orchid I blipped in its glass pot last week. I used the flash to capture it in low light conditions.

Since it is the full moon the day was overcast and gloomy. Another snow event is predicted for next week so I set about building up the reserves of firewood on the veranda. I have plenty of sawn logs, but many are too wide for the stove  and have to be split. I could hold out for another two week’s siege.

My son cut the broken branches that were too big for me. More importantly he dislodged a long branch that was hanging over the place where I cut the logs. It was high up and he managed to lasso it with a rope loop held open with wire, and then he pulled it down. The other loose branch that is over the bank has been forced into a secure position by nor’west gales. There are others that have come down over the fence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.