Jewel Orchid

Here is my jewel orchid (Haemaria discolor dawsoniana) in her new home, which she is happy about, otherwise she wouldn’t be flowering. After repotting her into a large jar she got the atmosphere that was required and flowered for the first time in 24 years. However, the narrow neck of the jar hid the beautiful leaves. When I saw Meles’s blip of an orchid in a glass pot I went looking for a similar one. The velvety leaves turn bright red as they die. I put a little hare’s foot fern in for contrasting colour. It is not very clear because of the reflection of the snow on the glass. Close-up of the flower.

It was too dark indoors to get a decent photo so I moved out to the back yard. In spite of the snow the sunshine was warm. I didn’t need a coat. Still no hot water though. Last night my son dug a path across the back lawn over the line of the pipes from the holding tank, but it doesn’t get enough sunshine there to make a difference. The ground stayed frozen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.