Jarred Orchid

This is my jewel orchid (Haemaria discolor dawsoniana) in a big jar for Meles to see. The jar has done wonders for the plant, which had not flowered for 24 years prior to my putting it into the jar. However, the shape of the jar doesn’t do the plant justice. I originally bought the plant for the foliage, a velvety dark green with light red veins. Dying leaves turn bright red. Most of the leaves are hidden by the neck and shoulders of the jar.

The orchid that Meles blipped is in a straight sided glass pot that provides the humid conditions required, without obscuring the plant. I will be looking out for one like that.

In case you are wondering, I took the orchid outside to photograph it. Normally it is in a sunless corner of my living room.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.