In Clover

The heat was throwing up a mirage as I walked across the meadows, with the grasses and wild flowers shimmering in the sunshine. It was hugely pretty.

Walking on the paddocks near Malvern in the heat and sun at it's zenith meant it was a butterfly fest. However, they flitted and patrolled their territory fighting off the other contenders and rarely settling which was a tad annoying. I took a few shots but the dogs were panting hard and I really felt I should call it a day rather than explore much further because I was sneezing!

This female meadow brown was having a sip of clover nectar on it's brief stop over and like all the others preferred to be on the wing. Like other browns they have only four walking legs but unusually the females are more distinctive than the males with their 'eyes' standing out against the large orange patches on the upper side.

It also qualifies for FlowerFriday too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.