Park Rash

I cracked today. Looking at another Saturday morning forecast of rain following a week of beautiful weather I bunked off work mid-afternoon and headed off into the sunset on my bike. I did one of my favourite routes, up to Kettlewell, over the tops and down Coverdale to Jervaulx Abbey before returning over the moors via Pateley Bridge. It's usually one of the first long rides I do each year but I missed out this Spring. It's incredibly beautiful.

This is the climb of Park Rash. It's one of my very favourites. I love it's shifting gradients, from crazy steep to a few downhill sections to give the legs a break. Following last Sunday's epic ride I felt very strong. It's funny how 75 miles today seemed like no big deal at all. You can see the very top of the climb to the far right, but I posted a shot of the final section here over three years ago. 

I've just been reminded that the Tour de France passed through Kettlewell, a mile from here, almost exactly a year ago. They went up a gentler route (La Cote de Cray) than this. Wimps! But where did that year go?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.