Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Here we go round...

I've never had reason to wonder why the nursery rhyme  goes, 'Here we go round the mulberry bush'.  This morning I was walking round and round mine, looking for the ripe mulberries and I had a moment of realisation... some years late! 

I bought a weeping mulberry three years ago. The instructions were to plant in a sheltered place as it could be damaged by winds.  Too late. This garden is exposed to all but a west wind and the bush went in where it is buffered by all the other three.  Other than doing it harm, it's growing extra fast and covered in fruit.  

Mulberries ripen, a few at a time, amongst clusters of fruit at all different stages.  When you think you've picked all the ripe ones, you walk around the tree and find others. Round and round before I collected a small bowl full.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.