Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

The Pianist

I love the fact that there is always a pianist playing Vaughan-Williams at Leith Hill Place and I'm more than happy to break my diet for a cream tea, especially when you have to wait for the delicious homemade scones to come out of the oven. 

I popped my head around the door to see who was playing today.  The music sheet reflected a rare light from the window into his face and I snapped a shot without paying attention to my settings, thinking it probably wouldn't come out. I was pleasantly surprised when this came out and you have an image that isn't one of the Dragons that fly around the spring fed bogs. 

No, it' doesn't feel like summer yet, but sitting in the cool breeze on the terrace with my friend, music drifting through the windows and the spectacular view over the Weald in front of us, can only be described as very pleasant. After yesterday's soaking, I did put a plastic mac in my bag but it wasn't necessary.

The dogs love running around in the Rhododendron Wood. There are unusual scents in the filthy red bog that covers most of the hill.  The Rhodies are of course over now but the largest Tulip Tree in Europe is in full flower.  It's thought to be over 250 years old and it impressive to say the least.  No way could I get more than a few leaves with a 100mm lens.  Well I was intending photographing Dragonflies.  Needless to say, my extra photo is one of the trees thousands of beautiful flowers.  
If you are in the area it's worth a visit just for the tree and cake! 

The visit was followed by a trip to the ford in Shere.  The best way to clean the worst off fetid, stinking dogs.  My car may recover.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.