Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Sweetness on the 4th

After my rant yesterday against the 4th of July, my heart lifted this morning when I heard the sound of a jazz band in the streets near the place where I am dog-sitting. I remembered my many years in New Orleans, when dancing in the streets was almost a daily occurrence, and I remembered how wonderful it is to have a neighborhood parade for children on their bikes, pulling siblings or pets in their little wagons. 

I agree with Raspberry Jefe, who said in his astute comment yesterday, "all countries have an equal amount of good and evil.  There is no country better than another, nor worse than another." Countries are made of people, and people have an equal capacity for good and evil. Power in the sense of ability is a wonderful thing. Power in the sense of domination is a terrible thing. But without people who are willing to use what voice they have to advocate for the powerless, countries--and their governments--have plenty of incentive to aid the rich, protect the privileges of the few, and deafen themselves to the voices of those who suffer. And so I put my little voice on the side of compassion, on the side of the poor, on the side of those who labor and have difficulties meeting their needs. That's what I can do. 

May all beings be safe, be well, be at peace. May those who celebrate the 4th of July be filled with loving kindness for all beings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.