NewDelftBlue

By hjarald

And Then There Was Light!

After many dark years, today was the day that my heart was illuminated with joy!
The location for this very special personal event was at Khotinsky, a former energy plant in Dordrecht that has been transformed into a hip grand café and cultural center.
Of course I was curious enough to know why they called this place 'Khotinsky' - my Russian is not very good and I don't know many Russian hero's either ;-))

It seems to be a homage to a Russian - but living in Holland - inventor / pioneer called Achilles de Khotinsky who experimented with electricity and produced the first Dutch lampbulb.
I don't know why but I always thought that the Dutch company Philips was the first company who became a multinational for producing lightbulbs was logically also the inventor, research proved me wrong!

Nice detail is the windmill next door that can be seen from the glass covered former street between the energy plants. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.