Worked my fingers to the bone

OK, not quite the bone, but the maltesery core!

I was going to post a picture of a pub called the Tin Pot at Gustard Wood which I planned to cycle past today. I did pass through Gustard Wood, but I didn't see the pub. Checked on-line when I got home and it is no more. Last mention of it was as a guest house but even that wasn't recent.

What is so important about this pub that it could draw me away from my series of 'eye' pictures? It just happens to be the place where fate brought Diana and I together 34 years ago. She, a friend called Josie and my elder sister Kim wanted to go there one Saturday night as it was renowned for its cocktails. Trouble  was none of them had a car so Kim asked if I would drop them off and pick them up at the end of the evening. Not likely, it's about 10 miles away. 4 * 10 = 40 miles. My offer was 'you want a lift, I stay for the evening'. They had little choice really. Anyway, long story short,  it was mentioned in passing that Diana played squash. That next week, a friend cancelled a squash game. Remembering that Diana played, I asked if she would like to play in his place, and BANG - 34 years later, we have 4 children and 1 granddaughter. So many things could have transpired against us meeting that night and so many things had to happen for it to turn into anything more than me being a cheap taxi service.

Fate - It's a funny old thing when you think about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.