Athens

Athens the city of silly walks

Another day another port and location for the eyes to ponder over, I do like this cruising melarky. The distances covered when you are fast asleep is quite remarkable and beats driving and catching other modes of transport to see somewhere new. Last night I experienced the first rocking of the boat, not that you dirty minded people ;) It wasn't rough seas by any stretch of the imagination but up until this point I couldn't believe we were on a boat.

Today the port was Piraeus located just 10 minutes from the centre of Athens.

The girlfriend and I were up and fed quite early ready for the days excursion to the Acropolis above the city.

Like most tourist attractions it was way too over crowded for my liking and getting a decent image was almost impossible from every part of the heritage site. I did really enjoy the the scale and history before my eyes and we also got a good workout with all the walking and climbing.

After two hours around the Acropolis we headed back to Athens and saw the Olympic stadium and the changing of the guards.

All in all another great day on holiday and a little bit sad that there is only one and a bit full day left but at least it's Santorini.

Limited Wi-Fi has been rather therapeutic this week and the only thing I've missed is blip of course, I'm ignoring the thought of piled up emails and that naughty four letter little word "work".

See extras - Coffee time, the city of Athens, backstreets, a jewellery maker and a ship that's trying to be a car.

Hope you're all well

Mr Bo Hingles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.