Santorini

I was promised an amazing entry into the port of Thira on Santorini so my alarm was set for 6:00am for 6:30am port arrival. Much to my disappointment when the alarm went off I looked out my porthole to see we were already stationary. As I was awake I decided I'd get up and take in the views of the Volcanic Caldera we were sitting in. It didn't fail to impress and I enjoyed the change in light as the sun rose over the hill side ridge of the village. 

I then went back to my cabin after a bite to eat in the buffet breakfast bar, spent an hour sorting images on the laptop and then had another 30 minutes of nap. 

Today was another tender day to get us to shore then the girlfriend and I climbed the 500+ steps up the steep hillside to the gorgeous village of Thira. We passed many donkeys and horses all which were willing to take us up the long and winding path. We made it to the top in very good time just a little out of breath and sweaty. 

We had a good wonder around the quaint little streets and took in some of the many blue domed churches. Knowing the village a few miles away was renowned for being the prettiest village in all of Greece we got into a taxi and headed there. 

Oia village stood up-to the hype, I loved this place and could easily spend a week there just absorbing it's beauty. The cute back streets turned into little pathways between churches, private villas and even windmills. It really was picture perfect, the only thing letting it down was a few too many people ruining "the" shot.

We all had a great lunch there too, skewered kebabs, calamari, chips and ice cold refreshments. 

Feeling gutted this little trip is coming to an end but they did save the best till last. 


Please check out the extras for a few great characters, more of the village, sleeping on the job, clearwater and a wedding just for good measures.


Last full day of the holiday, it's been fantastic and work is going to be hard this week.


Mr Bo Hingles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.