Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Ruperra Farm Barn

I started watching the womens soccer World Cup Final last night between USA and Japan. Within 16 mins the USA were 4-0 ahead. The fourth goal was a corker - maybe the best I've seen this year. It was obvious the USA weren't going to lose. They won 5-2.

I went and had a look on our roof balcony and could see it wasn't going to rain, there were some stars to be had, albeit some clouds and a bright moon. The match wasn't going to keep me on the edge of my seat so I decided to go somewhere local and give it a go.

I chose the old barn opposite Ruperra Hillfort, near Rudry, Caerphilly. The private road has a locked barrier at night so I had to trek a bit. I know Anthony, the farmer, but even he would be surprised to find me in his field in the early hours of the morning.

The blip photo I like best is taken with a manual focus fisheye lens (hence do lens data but it's a Samyang 12mm F2.8). It's caught some lovely detail of the barn and a mass of stars. The bright moon was a bit of a pain and that's caused the tree shadows on the side of the barn.

I got home just after 2am but was able to have a lay-in. We've had some light rain today but nothing like what was forecast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.