Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Variations on a theme...

I know that Blipfoto is going to show this as my 1,460th Blip...but it's NOT my 1,460th consecutive blip.  I started this crazy journey on 17 July 2011 and my actual 4 years of non-stop blips will be on July 18 of this year.  So, I am going to hold off on the usual reflections until my actual 1,460th entry.  

That said, I wanted to do something memorable today and I was very tempted to do a hummingbird...but this tattered and torn Red Admiral ended up being my personal favorite shot of the day.  And, since I blipped a butterfly proboscis (like the way I worked that in?) yesterday, I thought I'd continue in the same theme today.  

I am happy to report that it looks like the wren eggs are starting to hatch!  Truthfully, I was getting worried that maybe their nest had failed, but today I saw both adults carrying various unfortunate insects into the nest box - a sure sign that there is at least one gaping beak in there, demanding to be fed.   I've made a not on my calendar to start watching for the chicks to fledge around July 21st... In the meantime, it won't be safe to be an insect in our garden for the next few weeks as the baby wrens are on a strict insect diet...

Provided that the weather holds, I am planning to meet up with a friend tomorrow  I am hoping to see my first-ever red-headed woodpecker as she knows where a pair is nesting.  Fingers crossed...

I'm pretty chuffed that my blue-eyed dragon is still up high on the Popular page - thank you!  

I posted six other photos from today on Flickr, starting HERE - birds and bugs.  

Hope everyone's week is off to a good start.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.