Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

She's just not that into you, dude!

Firstly, humble thanks for the many, many hearts, stars and lovely comments on my "sort of" 1825th Blip yesterday.  Your words, and friendship mean so very much to me.  My two woodpeckers have been sitting in the number 2 spot at the top of the Pops page sandwiched between HillyBlip's flying Puffin and BikerBear's inquisitive lambs.  This seems fitting since I've spent many treasured hours with both of these women, photographing all kinds of amazing things.  Very honored.

Today I met with my nature group for a hike on part of the Appalachian Trail.  It was very hot and muggy so we called it quits after about 3 hours, but had a terrific time.  We passed a number of people who were hiking the entire 2,200 mile (3,500 km) trail - I can't even imagine doing that, wow.  Saw a Cooper's Hawk being chased by a pair of Eastern Kingbirds - and realized that the hawk had one of the kingbird fledglings in its talons.  Although I like seeing most all aspects of nature, this one was a little tough.  But,l I remind myself that the hawk is also trying to feed babies...

I posted two pics taken on the Trail today ...
A lovely banded netwing beetle, looking more like a moth than a beetle, and
a pair of blue-tip damsels, trying to get their groove on

Back at home, I decided that I hadn't sweated enough, so I went down and crouched in the blazing sun in our coneflower patch.  Which is where I caught this pair of skippers (broken-dash, I think, but will confirm) cavorting.  Actually, the female (above) was not wanting any part of the male's repeated attempts to mate with her.  Periodically, he'd go off and get a bit of nectar, then return to try to woo her, only to be soundly rebuffed.

Meanwhile, hummers are buzzing around the garden, titmice babies talking non-stop and the catbirds are working on second nests.  Bluebird eggs still looking good and I'm estimating a hatch late this week.  The wrens... well, who knows what is going on with them other than lots and lots of singing and hauling sticks around.

Happy Hump Day, people.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.