Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

1825 Little Moments...

According to Blip, this is my 1,825th blip.  For my purposes, I'll be celebrating 1825 on July 18 as that will mark five years of consecutive days of photography for me.  Blip's count includes 10 photos that I backblipped from a spectacular trip to Ireland that we took in 2010, a year before I started blipping.  But I plan to celebrate today, too - in part because I finally got my shot of one of the male red-bellied woodpeckers feeding his offspring, something I've been trying to get for the last couple of weeks.  I find this incredibly touching to observe.  

I will no doubt write a ridiculously long entry on my "true" five year blip anniversary, but I'll say a few words today, too (as if that was ever in any doubt...)  And I'll also include a link to five other shots from today, including two chipmunks being predictably adorable..  click HERE

When I posted my first entry here, at the urging of fellow brain-tumour surviver and good friend, Lorenzo, I didn't have any real plan in mind.  Then, almost before I know it, I'd been posting for 30 days, then 100, then 200...and then a year.  Taking photos became a part of my daily life.  Along the way, I made some great friendships with people here - some virtually and many "in the flesh".  I've traveled with some of you, stood beside you in rain, heat and even cold, taking photos and making memories.  Who would have ever guessed?  

On days when life has felt incredibly hard, picking up my camera and going out to get my "one shot" each day has kept me going.  Photography has become my favorite and best form of therapy - again, who would have guessed?

Okay, I'll stop now ... gotta save something for the 17th.  Thanks for stopping by.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.