Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Leaving the scene...

Well, it had to be done - I had to post a hummingbird today.  This one is one of this year's juveniles, and she wasn't being particularly cooperative, hence the weird composition of this shot.  Ordinarily, I'd leave room in front of the bird so that it could "fly" in the frame, but doing so would have cut out the suggestion of flowers, so I consciously cropped it this way.  Not sure if I like it or not, but it's what I'm going with.

Hot and humid today - not good for spending much time outside unless one likes being soggy with sweat.  But, the heat always brings out some interesting bugs, so I did spend some time crouched in the garden and came up with my first hairstreak (butterfly) of the year as well as a nice action shot of a wasp carrying prey to her nest.  You know I always like a good predation shot!  And, lastly, a very comical titmouse showing all the rigors of parenting this year's brood of babies.  Three shots starting HERE on Flickr.  

The nesting season is still in full swing for the birds who raise multiple broods - the cardinals, catbirds, wrens, robins and bluebirds are all in some stage of  Brood Two at this point.  The woodpeckers, titmice, blue jays and chickadees are all done for the year - which is no doubt a relief.

And all is fine in my world...

Cheers
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.