JuneFox

By JuneFox

Monsal Dale Weir

This morning we drove over to Bakewell (famous for it's Bakewell Pudding); the primary reason being to visit the livestock market held on Mondays. It was fascinating to watch the cows/bulls being herded in for inspection, the bidding process and the auctioneer at work. A tradition in Bakewell that dates back to the 1330s!

After lunch - thick toastie sandwiches followed by scone, jam and clotted cream and a hot chocolate (better get climbing a few more hills to work off those calories!) - we headed over to Monsal Head to see the Headstone Viaduct which stretches 100 metres across the River Wye below. From here we walked down to Monsal Dale Weir. The River Wye drops a few metres down a stepped weir. Spent a good few hours here playing with long exposure shots and close ups.  

As I managed to break my Little Stopper on the second day when my tripod fell over! this shot was taken with a 4-stop filter (kindly lent to me by my friend Matthew - and returned in one piece thankfully). I also took some shots using the Big Stopper, however I preferred the textures in the water using the 4-stop filter.   

Driving back to the apartment, we stopped off in a quaint country pub for dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.