The House That Fuzz Built

Eco-friendly, one-owner home in a good neighborhood, move-in condition! (Creative ideas for things to do with cat fuzz, take #2. See also take #1, The Princess and the Pea.)

When you have a cat, you have cat fuzz. It's as simple as that. Some times of the year, the fuzz is more evident than others. Dexter usually sheds a lot in springtime and then the fuzz settles down over summer. However, this summer, he has seemed to be shedding much more, on a much more consistent and ongoing basis. This pile represents about a week's worth of fuzz.

My husband brushes the cat, and he leaves the shed cat fuzz for me. Yes, go ahead and make fun of me! I collect it and sometimes I do silly things with it before I place it in the yard for the birds to use to line their nests. (This is a good idea ONLY if you do not put any kinds of treatments on the cat's fur. The birdies do not need any additives, kthx!)

It has a possible alternative use as well: the little fuzz structure would make a lovely and fashionable pillbox hat, not unlike that worn by Jackie Kennedy Onassis. And just think how soft and warm it would be!

Here is a link to a picture of the Fuzz Machine in action: Dexter, snoozing, dreaming and making fuzz. Lots and lots of fuzz. And isn't it funny that while Dexter is mostly a black and white and gray Tabby, the shed fuzz looks quite golden and almost orange! Thus the term we use for him: the greater North American golden Tabby!

The songs to accompany this image are two favorites of mine. I have been thinking a lot lately about what kind of house I want to live in. And I am not actually talking about a physical house; I already have one of those. I guess what I am talking more about is a house of the spirit.

First is a song by Martina McBride, Love's the Only House. And second is a tune sung by Toni Childs, from the Thelma & Louise soundtrack, House of Hope.  Love and hope: now those are truly some FINE houses to live in!

Somewhat related: a favorite childhood nursery rhyme, The House That Jack Built.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.