WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Where the bee sucks

Connections was remembering chaiselongue yesterday, and so  am I -- both of us had met Teleri, and her death was such a shock. She left us two years yesterday, and on 7 July 2013 I blipped a butterfly for her. Just a week before, we had been exchanging comments about butterflies, so I thought of her when I saw the buddleia bush near the swimming pool full of swallowtails -- more than I saw all of last summer. I know I've blipped them many times before, but they are irresistible. This is the more common type; I also saw a couple of these with their elegant tracery.

Another pale green beauty here  -- not one I've seen before. The upper side of its wings is bright yellow and I think it might be a brimstone. I also saw what I initially thought was a hummingbird hawk moth, but having studied the photo I'm not sure now -- thoughts anyone? It really is a bumper year for moths and butterflies, there are clouds of them everywhere, and more varieties than I've seen before.

Full Flickr set of this buzzing buddleia here. Today is another scorcher -- even at 7 p.m. it's well over 30C, and the water in the pool was 28C this morning -- not exactly refreshing. Thank goodness for AC in the office! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.