Jagdschloss Grünau

The venue for Saturday evening's glam dinner. The Jagdschloss Grünau near Neuburg an der Donau.

Lovely on a sunny summer's evening to have a glass of something cold & fizzy in the courtyard first.

It turned out to be a great evening and all credit to our hosts.

I made my maiden speech in German, which was a bit of an achievement given that I didn't speak the language at all until I started a beginners class 9 months ago. I was quite chuffed that they understood it all, and even laughed at a couple of my jokes.

Contrary to popular misconceptions, the Germans do have very good sense of humour.

The speech was one of the toughest 15 minutes I can remember - not due to nerves, but having to concentrate so hard on getting the pronunciation correct.

Thanks to Dagmar and Dorina for all the coaching!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.